PDA

View Full Version : how do you like your blanquillo/huevos?

KillerGremlin
06-01-2008, 01:43 PM
Breakfast is the best meal in the day, but I'm finding that as a college student I'll have breakfast for lunch and dinner. I really like eggs, they are incredibly versatile and yummy. I like my eggs runny with lots of yolk, I like to mush my eggs up with my hash browns and bacon. I think it's delicious. But, my absolute favorite eggs are poached eggs. Poached eggs are the eggs you get if you order Eggs Benedict, one of my favorite breakfast dishes. They are pretty hard to make at home, I've tried a few times. You take the raw yolk and whites, and you slide them just under the surface of water that is just about to boil. It's a lot of timing and coordination, and the water-salt mixture you are supposed to use makes is difficult. Usually my eggs just fall apart in the water in a stringy, white mess.

But anyway, what's your favorite style of eggs. And, if you want, what dish do you like them in.

I didn't include Omlet or its variations because unlike the above listed, a GOOD omlet isn't just made with eggs and milk. :p

The Germanator
06-01-2008, 01:52 PM
I'm also going to go with poached, but as you said, it's hard to do for yourself so that's something usually just reserved for when I order some kind of benedict or florentine at a restaurant. If at home it's usually scrambled...

Best variation of Eggs Benedict I've ever had was a "California Benedict" in LA which involved poached eggs, hollandaise, avocado, spinach, and tomato. Very good.

Aladuf
06-01-2008, 07:46 PM
Scrambled all the way.

Fox 6
06-01-2008, 07:48 PM
Over easy. Yummers

uber_paddler
06-01-2008, 07:49 PM
It's all about sunny side up.

GameMaster
06-02-2008, 12:00 AM
Scrambled with ketchup!

Dyne
06-02-2008, 04:42 AM
You can actually buy a poaching device for the microwave. It makes damn good eggs.