PDA

View Full Version : Question About Resident Evil

Heyyoudvd
04-29-2002, 11:02 PM
First of all, let me just say that I'm new to the RE series and am interested in the new Resident Evil.

Anyways, does anyone know approximately how long this game is?

I've heard that it's a great game, but I've got no idea how long it is. It doesn't have any multiplayer, so If it's only about a 12 hour game, I'm just gonna rent it, rather than shell out full price, as it wouldn't be worth it.

Can someone please tell me approximately how long it is, and whether it's worth the purchase, or just as a rental?

gekko
04-29-2002, 11:26 PM
Depends on who you are. For me, the game with Jill takes 1:11:09 :) For Mike Morrow (RE god), Chris takes 59:58, Jill takes 1:06:xx, and Jill with knife only takes 1:15:xx. Of course, these times were achieved by taking the shortest path possible through the game, only grabbing the items needed, not doing anything out of order, and dodging as many zombies as possible, which involves knowing which way each zombie turns, and knowing which ones are pukes, and which ones aren't. So it can be a 1-hour game, if you're good enough.

On the other hand, to reach the first snake takes me 18 minutes. To reach the first snake the first time I ever played the game (no guide), took me 7 hours. Now I've flipped through the strategy guide, and I'm seeing a lot of new areas in this game. So if they did a good job, the game could easily pull time and a half.

You're a RE newbie, so you wouldn't catch on to the puzzles as quickly, and assuming you don't use a guide, this game could take you close anywhere from 10-20 hours. Of course, that's just one character, you still have to beat it with both characters.

And yes, it would be worth paying $2000 for.

DeathsHand
04-29-2002, 11:50 PM
I love RE too, just like gekko (although not as much to know all that stuff about RE and do it all fast and stuff :unsure: )! I wanna reply too!